Marvel’s Phase Three Slate Is Staggering.


Yesterday at a specially organised event Marvel Studios officially announced the line-up of their much-anticipated phase three slate of movies, revealing no fewer than eight new titles.

I can of course write about this development as five of them are direct sequels. The entire list breaks down like so, in order of release dates:

May 6th 2015: Captain America: Civil War

Nov. 4th 2016: Doctor Strange (played by Benedict Cumberpatch)

May 5th 2017: Guardians of the Galaxy 2

July 29th 2017: Thor: Ragnarok

Nov. 3rd 2017: Black Panther (played by Chadwick Boseman)

May 3rd 2018: Avengers: Infinity Wars pt.1

July 6th 2018: Captain Marvel

May 4th 2019: Avengers: Infinity Wars pt.2

Nov. 2nd 2019: Inhumans

So we have a sequel for Captain America which will take us straight into the Civil War storyline, something I’m certain we’ll be directed towards beforehand from Avengers: Age of Ultron. We then have a follow-up to this year’s highly successful Guardians Of The Galaxy, along with a third Thor movie which will obviously continue the Civil War theme and possibly bleed into the forthcoming Avengers: Infinity Wars movies.

As much as I’m excited to see the sequels and standalones this slate produces I can’t help but wonder if this is the point where the superhero movie bubble bursts.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: